Ready, Set, Share: Specula takes collaboration to the next level.

Data can tell a story and there are times when you want to share the story with others. In a few simple steps, your content becomes anyone's content.

Published on
Updated on
Read time 3 min
Length 470 words
Filed in Specula Journal

After you have become accustomed to Specula and its features, you might think: It would be truly awesome if i could share this dashboard with someone else. - and guess what, you can.

Share mode incentivizes collaboration

There are many reasons someone might want to share a dashboard:

  1. Share the status of your project
  2. Keep your team aligned to the same source of truth
  3. Access the dashboard from a different device
  4. Showcase key metrics during a presentation
  5. Inform your customers as they walk in your store

and many more. The use cases are limited by your imagination.

Share mode is non-persistent

People receiving the dashboard cannot save their changes or override the main dashboard. However, changes you make to the main dashboard will reflect in the shared version.

Let's go through an example. You configure a dashboard on your computer and you turn on share mode. You open the special share link in your tv's browser. Now you can see the dashboard either on your tv or on your computer. You can manually rearrange the dashboard directly on your tv, but whenever you refresh the browser it will snap back to the layout configured on the computer. Changes are transferred in only one direction and they persist only on the device where you are logged in.

Share mode is responsive

The responsiveness topic will receive an article on its own, but i will briefly touch this subject as it is relevant to share mode as well.

Widgets will automatically scale based on the available viewport but will also mirror the layout. Basically, this means that on your tv widgets will be in the same place as they are on your computer regardless of the screen size (they will however become larger or smaller).

Share mode is simple

You can share the dashboard in three clicks: one for opening the share settings, one for making the dashboard public and one for copying the share link.

People receiving the link do not need to register to access the dashboard.

Share mode is privacy-oriented

Sharing is caring but oversharing might lead to undesirable outcomes. There are several built-in mechanisms that will prevent someone from discovering your refrigerator's password.

  1. Whenever a dashboard is public, you will see a green toggle in the menu bar along with the label Public. This toggle is present in the library section as well. If you have a lot of dashboards, you can spot the public ones in no time.
  2. The toggle can be turned off but not turned on. Therefore, it is easier to make a dashboard private.
  3. The share link expires by default after 3 days, but you can set the expiry for up to 30 days.
  4. The share link is long and difficult to guess
  5. The share link regenerates after its expiry

Enough reading. Time to share!


Thanks for taking the time to read through this.

Ex animo,
PAXᴳᴸᴼᴮᴬᴸ

Image preview